Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

GOTG1a

*Disclaimer: I know very little about the original comic so please don’t expect any references to or comparisons with the comic or you will be bitterly disappointed. You have been warned.*

This movie was not a highly-anticipated movie of mine because simply-put I didn’t see how a film with a group of misfits including a talking Raccoon and a Vin Diesel-voiced tree thing could have any appeal to anyone but children and comic geeks (and I say that with the utmost affection as I have many friends in both categories).

GOTG4

I know this kind of alluded to a but-boy-was-I-wrong opening for the next paragraph but it would only half tick that box. Most of the movie was as expected including a very simple plot and a few warm fuzzy moments of camaraderie and belonging. I did enjoy the back stories to each of the characters although only Quill’s (Chris Pratt) was really fleshed out which was a shame but also understandable due to the risk of deviation from the main plot. Also, the relationship between Quill and Gamora (Zoe Saldana) was very shallowly developed and there wasn’t enough basis in my opinion why Quill would risk his life to save hers after sharing only very brief moments with her.

GOTG2

There was really quite a lot to like about the film including the humour at every turn, the characterisation and believability from all the cast including Vin Diesel who I commend on being able to say the exact three words in different ways all throughout the film. And I’m actually not being sarcastic, you try saying “I am Groot” in different ways and you’ll see.

GOTG3

I didn’t have too much to complain about. It’s like when you have to dig hard to find something to write in the complaints section you know that you really don’t have anything to complain about. The film is what it is and there weren’t any plot holes or scenes that made you cringe. The only thing that doesn’t make it a 10/10 is just the fact that it’s just not that kind of movie. There’s no deep and meaningful story or messages that make you feel something else. I’ve only recently learnt that the lack of poignancy and greater meaning is completely okay and not to expect anything more from comic book adaptations or any other action film. Although it still irks me when I see films like this sitting on the IMDb Top 250 above the likes of American Beauty (1999) and Requiem for a Dream (2000).

IMDb: 8.9

Rotten Tomatoes: 92%

My rating:

photo-4

Leave a comment